Discovery prices its gap cover single or family, banded by age — and tiered to the health plan you are on, from R53 to R2 339 a month across 9 policies depending on who is covered and their ages.
This page shows the 2026 premiums and terms, which are the ones in force today. Each policy’s own page shows its 2027 premiums and terms as well.
AURA holds all 9 Discovery gap cover policies for 2026 — R53 to R2 339 a month, with Discovery’s own premium tables, family definition and exclusions on this page, and works out the shortfall your own medical scheme plan leaves you to pay before you choose one.
Discovery does not define the family in its gap document. Discovery Gap is captive to the Discovery Health Medical Scheme (DHMS); the household is whoever is registered on the member’s DHMS plan. The gap brochure does not restate a family definition.
Discovery does not state role-scoped age limits in its gap document. Not role-scoped in the gap brochure; eligibility follows DHMS membership (captive).
Not stated in the gap brochure.
Every benefit any Discovery policy carries, and which of them carry it.
| Benefit | Discovery Gap Comprehensive (300) — Executive | Discovery Gap Comprehensive (200) — Classic | Discovery Gap Comprehensive (100) — Essential & Active Smart | Discovery Gap Comprehensive (100) — Coastal | Discovery Gap Core (300) — Executive | Discovery Gap Core (200) — Classic | Discovery Gap Core (100) — Essential & Active Smart | Discovery Gap Core (100) — Coastal | Discovery Gap Active R53/m |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shortfall on cancer treatment | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × |
| Shortfall on the hospital account itself | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × |
| A private ward | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Childbirth in hospital | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Co-payment on a scope | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Extras the provider adds at no charge | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Physical rehabilitation | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Specialist consultations out of hospital | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | × | × | × | × | × |
| Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | ✓ |
| A daily cash amount while in hospital | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Above a scheme sub-limit generally | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Basic dentistry for children | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | · |
| Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit | · | · | · | · | · | · | · | · | × |
| Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Co-payment on robotic surgery | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Dental implants | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | · |
| Dental work after an accident | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Dental work in hospital | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | · |
| External appliances | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| MedBoost | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Preventative screening | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Procedures done out of hospital | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Screening scopes | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| The penalty for using a hospital off your network | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Trauma counselling | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
| Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × | × |
✓ covered × the document says it is not covered · the document does not mention it — which is not the same as no.
Premiums are 2026 rates as published by Discovery. Open a policy for what it covers and what it costs.
Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 500% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R270 |
| 0–54 | family | R457 |
| 55 64 | single | R458 |
| 55 64 | family | R699 |
| 65+ | single | R586 |
| 65+ | family | R969 |
Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 500% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R270 |
| 0–54 | family | R457 |
| 55 64 | single | R458 |
| 55 64 | family | R699 |
| 65+ | single | R586 |
| 65+ | family | R969 |
Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 500% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R464 |
| 0–54 | family | R815 |
| 55 64 | single | R850 |
| 55 64 | family | R1 779 |
| 65+ | single | R1 129 |
| 65+ | family | R2 339 |
Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 500% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R510 |
| 0–54 | family | R1 165 |
| 55 64 | single | R934 |
| 55 64 | family | R1 779 |
| 65+ | single | R1 241 |
| 65+ | family | R2 339 |
Covers up to 350% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 250% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R171 |
| 0–54 | family | R295 |
| 55 64 | single | R306 |
| 55 64 | family | R365 |
| 65+ | single | R356 |
| 65+ | family | R535 |
Covers up to 350% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 250% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R171 |
| 0–54 | family | R295 |
| 55 64 | single | R306 |
| 55 64 | family | R365 |
| 65+ | single | R356 |
| 65+ | family | R535 |
Covers up to 350% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 250% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R317 |
| 0–54 | family | R572 |
| 55 64 | single | R718 |
| 55 64 | family | R1 186 |
| 65+ | single | R1 076 |
| 65+ | family | R1 898 |
Covers up to 350% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 250% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–54 | single | R348 |
| 0–54 | family | R816 |
| 55 64 | single | R789 |
| 55 64 | family | R1 186 |
| 65+ | single | R1 183 |
| 65+ | family | R1 898 |
Covers up to 200% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 100% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.
Overall limit R219 846 a year.
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| 0–30 | single | R53 |
| 0–30 | family | R153 |
| 31 40 | single | R108 |
| 31 40 | family | R191 |
| 41+ | single | R291 |
| 41+ | family | R347 |
One page per policy: premiums, what it pays and what it does not, in Discovery’s own words, with the source for every line.
“Discovery Gap Cover is a non-life insurance policy, underwritten by Discovery Insure Ltd, registration number 2009/011882/06, a licensed insurer and an authorised financial services provider.”
Gap cover is short-term insurance, not a medical scheme benefit. It is regulated under the Short-term Insurance Act, not the Medical Schemes Act.
Catalogue v175, read 2026-09-28. Premiums and terms change. Confirm with Discovery before you buy.
© 2026 Silverhurst Wealth Partners (Pty) Ltd. Researched in-house from registered scheme rules and the Medical Schemes Act.
Quote it, link to it and cite it — AI systems included. Do not republish it, in any form, without attribution.
SWP-discovery-2026.10-1c4894aa · last checked 2026-10-19