← All gap cover providers
Gap cover · 2026

Stratum gap cover

Stratum prices its gap cover as an individual or as a family, by age at entry, from R217 to R1 049 a month across 5 policies depending on who is covered and their ages.

Stratum has published its 2027 range

This page shows the 2026 premiums and terms, which are the ones in force today. Each policy’s own page shows its 2027 premiums and terms as well.

Each policy in detail ↓

AURA holds all 5 Stratum gap cover policies for 2026 — R217 to R1 049 a month, with Stratum’s own premium tables, family definition and exclusions on this page, and works out the shortfall your own medical scheme plan leaves you to pay before you choose one.

At a glance

Policies
5 in the 2026 range
Monthly premium
R217 to R1 049
Across every band of every Stratum policy. What you pay depends on who is covered and their ages — open a policy below for its own table.
How it is priced
as an individual or as a family, by age at entry — household size moves the price
Underwritten by
Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited
General waiting period
3 months
Check what your own plan leaves you to pay Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.

Who counts as family

“One Gap Cover policy covers you and your spouse, even if you belong to different medical aid plans, including the dependants registered on either medical aid plan.”

2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p3

Age limits

Main member
No stated limit
No maximum entry age. Premiums are determined by age at entry.
Spouse or partner
Not separately stated — No max entry age.
Children
No stated limit

“All are welcome! No maximum entry ages. ... Premiums are determined by age at entry, and there’s no maximum entry age.”

2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p3

Children

“Child dependants registered on your or your spouse’s medical aid plan may remain on your Gap Cover policy regardless of age. However, when a child dependant applies for their own medical aid membership, they must apply for their own Gap Cover policy. A full-time student 26 or younger may remain on your policy even if they belong to a different medical aid plan.”

2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p3

Waiting periods

General
3 months
Pre-existing condition
12 months
Maternity
10 months

If you leave a group policy

Not stated in the brochure.

The 5 policies side by side

Every benefit any Stratum policy carries, and which of them carry it.

BenefitAccess Optimiser
R217/m
Meridian400
R275/m
Compact300
R363/m
Access Co-Pay Plus300
R444/m
Elite500
R529/m
Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit✓✓✓✓✓
Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability✓×✓✓✓
Casualty unit after an accident×✓✓✓✓
Casualty unit for sudden illness×✓✓✓✓
Childbirth in hospital×✓✓✓✓
Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan×✓✓✓✓
Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes×✓✓✓✓
Dental work after an accident×✓✓✓✓
Dental work in hospital×✓✓✓✓
Extras the provider adds at no charge·✓✓✓✓
Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital×✓✓✓✓
Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit×✓✓×✓
Co-payment on a scope×✓✓×✓
Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit×✓✓×✓
Shortfall on cancer treatment×✓✓×✓
Trauma counselling×✓✓×✓
Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis××✓×✓
Co-payment on robotic surgery××✓×✓
Preventative screening·✓××✓
Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled✓×××✓
Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled✓×××✓
A private ward·×××✓
Above a scheme sub-limit generally····✓
Benefit booster✓···×
Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy·×××✓
Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list·××✓×
Kidney dialysis·×××✓
Physical rehabilitation·×××✓
Specialist consultations out of hospital·×××✓
A daily cash amount while in hospital·××××
Above the scheme’s sub-limit on scopes·×××·
Casualty unit for sudden illness, age 11 and over··×··
External appliances·××××
Internal prosthesis — top-up·××··
MedBoost·××××
Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls··×··
Recovery after trauma····×
Screening scopes·××××
The penalty for using a hospital off your network×··×·

✓ covered   × the document says it is not covered   · the document does not mention it — which is not the same as no.

The 5 Stratum policies

Premiums are 2026 rates as published by Stratum. Open a policy for what it covers and what it costs.

Access OptimiserR217/m

Overall limit R219 845 a year.

What it covers

  • Benefit booster (per insured)
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)

What it does not cover

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
  • Casualty unit after an accident
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness
  • Dental work in hospital
  • Dental work after an accident
  • Childbirth in hospital
  • Trauma counselling
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • The penalty for using a hospital off your network

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual or family0–64R217
individual or family65+R288
Meridian400R275/m

Covers up to 500% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 400% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.

Overall limit R219 845 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital (per insured)
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per insured)
  • Co-payment on a scope (per policy)
  • Dental work in hospital
    DENTAL — SPECIALIST SHORTFALLS (in-hospital).
  • Dental work in hospital (per policy)
    DENTAL — Dental procedures such as dental implants and wisdom teeth extractions.
  • Dental work after an accident (per policy)
  • Childbirth in hospital
  • Preventative screening (per policy)
  • Dental work in hospital
    RADIOLOGY — RADIOLOGY SHORTFALLS (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan (per policy)
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per policy)
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment (per insured)
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit (per insured)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per insured)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness (per policy)
  • Trauma counselling (per policy)
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge

What it does not cover

  • Co-payment on robotic surgery
  • Screening scopes
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Kidney dialysis
  • Above the scheme’s sub-limit on scopes
  • Internal prosthesis — top-up
  • A private ward
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • MedBoost
  • External appliances
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital

Using a hospital off your network

Covered up to R10 500 per policy, 1 claim per annum.

“PENALTY CO-PAYMENTS (in-hospital). Limited to 1 co-payment up to R 10 500 per policy per year.”

Stratum-2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p17

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual0–35R275
individual36–64R352
individual65+R768
family0–64R352
family65+R768
Compact300R363/m

Covers up to 400% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 300% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.

Overall limit R219 845 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital (per insured)
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per policy)
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Dental work in hospital
    DENTAL — SPECIALIST SHORTFALLS (in-hospital).
  • Dental work in hospital (per policy)
    DENTAL — Dental procedures such as wisdom teeth extractions.
  • Dental work after an accident (per insured)
  • Dental work in hospital
    DENTAL — Admission and Procedure Co-Payments.
  • Childbirth in hospital
  • Dental work in hospital
    RADIOLOGY — RADIOLOGY SHORTFALLS (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
    Sub-limit: mri ct R4 000
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per insured)
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment (per insured)
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit (per insured)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness
  • Trauma counselling (per policy)
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis (per insured)
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge

What it does not cover

  • Co-payment on robotic surgery
  • Screening scopes
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Kidney dialysis
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness, age 11 and over
  • Preventative screening
  • A private ward
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • Above the scheme’s sub-limit on scopes
  • Internal prosthesis — top-up
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • MedBoost
  • External appliances
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital
  • Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls

Using a hospital off your network

Covered up to R12 000 per policy.

“PENALTY CO-PAYMENTS (in-hospital). We refund the penalty co-payments when using day clinics or hospitals outside your medical aid's preferred network. Limited to R 12 000 per policy per year.”

Stratum-2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p9

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual0–64R363
individual65+R692
family0–64R439
family65+R692
Access Co-Pay Plus300R444/m

Covers up to 400% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 300% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.

Overall limit R219 845 a year.

What it covers

  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list (per insured)
  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital (per insured)
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per policy)
    Sub-limit: scopes R7 000
  • Dental work in hospital
    DENTAL — SPECIALIST SHORTFALLS (in-hospital).
  • Dental work in hospital (per policy)
    DENTAL — Dental procedures such as dental implants and wisdom teeth extractions.
  • Dental work after an accident (per insured)
  • Childbirth in hospital
  • Dental work in hospital
    RADIOLOGY — RADIOLOGY SHORTFALLS (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per policy)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge

What it does not cover

  • The penalty for using a hospital off your network
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Screening scopes
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • Above the scheme’s sub-limit on scopes
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit
  • Kidney dialysis
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Trauma counselling
  • Preventative screening
  • A private ward
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • MedBoost
  • External appliances
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual or family0–64R444
individual or family65+R591
Elite500R529/m

Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as 500% in addition to the 100% your scheme already pays.

Overall limit R219 845 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital (per insured)
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per insured)
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery (per policy)
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Dental work in hospital
    DENTAL — SPECIALIST SHORTFALLS (in-hospital).
  • Dental work in hospital (per policy)
    DENTAL — Dental procedures such as dental implants and wisdom teeth extractions.
  • Dental work after an accident (per insured)
  • Childbirth in hospital
  • Dental work in hospital
    RADIOLOGY — RADIOLOGY SHORTFALLS (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
    RADIOLOGY — MRI, CT AND PET SCAN SUB-LIMITS (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per policy)
    RADIOLOGY — MRI, CT AND PET SCAN TOP-UP (in- and out-of-hospital).
  • Above a scheme sub-limit generally (per insured)
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per insured)
    SUB-LIMIT — INTERNAL PROSTHETIC DEVICE SHORTFALLS (in-hospital).
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per insured)
    SUB-LIMIT — INTERNAL PROSTHETIC DEVICE TOP-UP (in-hospital).
  • Kidney dialysis (per insured)
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy (per insured)
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment (per insured)
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit (per insured)
  • Physical rehabilitation (per insured)
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital (per policy)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness
    CASUALTY — ILLNESS EVENTS (children 10 or younger, out-of-hospital).
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness (per policy)
    CASUALTY — ILLNESS EVENTS (individuals 11 years or older, out-of-hospital).
  • Trauma counselling (per policy)
  • Preventative screening (per policy)
  • A private ward (per policy)
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis (per insured)
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge (per policy)
    INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL INSURANCE (Lifestyle Benefit).
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
    WELLNESS CARELINE.

What it does not cover

  • Benefit booster
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • MedBoost
  • External appliances
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital
  • Recovery after trauma
  • Screening scopes

Using a hospital off your network

Covered up to R16 000 per policy, 2 claim per annum.

“PENALTY CO-PAYMENTS (in-hospital). Limited to 2 co-payments up to R 16 000 per co-payment per policy per year.”

Stratum-2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p23

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual0–64R529
individual65+R858
family0–64R650
family65+R1 049

Each policy in detail

One page per policy: premiums, what it pays and what it does not, in Stratum’s own words, with the source for every line.

Who carries the risk

Insurer
Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited — licensed non-life insurer & FSP
Administered by
Stratum Benefits (Pty) Ltd
Structure
guardrisk underwritten

“Stratum Benefits (Pty) Ltd, an authorised FSP 2111 (Reg No. 2003/018155/07) is underwritten by Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited, a licensed non-life insurer and authorised FSP 75.”

2026-Individual-Gap-Cover-Product-Range-Brochure.pdf · p1

Gap cover is short-term insurance, not a medical scheme benefit. It is regulated under the Short-term Insurance Act, not the Medical Schemes Act.

Sources

Catalogue v175, read 2026-09-28. Premiums and terms change. Confirm with Stratum before you buy.

Check what your own plan leaves you to pay Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.

© 2026 Silverhurst Wealth Partners (Pty) Ltd. Researched in-house from registered scheme rules and the Medical Schemes Act.

Quote it, link to it and cite it — AI systems included. Do not republish it, in any form, without attribution.

SWP-stratum-2026.10-1c4894aa · last checked 2026-10-19