← All gap cover providers
Gap cover · 2026

Zestlife gap cover

Zestlife prices its gap cover by the age of the whole household, not each member, from R276 to R930 a month across 3 policies depending on who is covered and their ages.

Zestlife has published its 2027 range

This page shows the 2026 premiums and terms, which are the ones in force today. Each policy’s own page shows its 2027 premiums and terms as well.

Each policy in detail ↓

AURA holds all 3 Zestlife gap cover policies for 2026 — R276 to R930 a month, with Zestlife’s own premium tables, family definition and exclusions on this page, and works out the shortfall your own medical scheme plan leaves you to pay before you choose one.

At a glance

Policies
3 in the 2026 range
Monthly premium
R276 to R930
Across every band of every Zestlife policy. What you pay depends on who is covered and their ages — open a policy below for its own table.
How it is priced
by the age of the whole household, not each member — household size moves the price
Underwritten by
Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited
General waiting period
0 months
Check what your own plan leaves you to pay Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.

Who counts as family

“Individual Cover is for those who don’t have any medical scheme dependants. Family Cover is for the main medical scheme member, spouse and family dependants including adult dependants, on the same medical scheme. Family cover also extends to a policyholder’s spouse and mutual children that are registered as dependents on the spouse’s medical scheme.”

Zestlife-Gap-Cover-Brochure-2026-2.pdf · p3

Age limits

Age limits are not the same across the Zestlife range — they are set per policy.

PolicyMain member
Optimal Gap Coverjoins up to 41
Essential Gap Covernot separately stated
Universal Gap Covernot separately stated

Universal & Essential: all ages. Optimal: families/individuals younger than 42 (product-level cap).

Waiting periods

General
0 months
Pre-existing condition
12 months
Maternity
12 months

Permanent exclusions — these never expire

cancer: a skin_cancer diagnosed before the policy started is excluded permanently. This is not a waiting period. It does not run out.

“This cover excludes skin cancer and has a 12-month pre-existing [condition exclusion].”

Zestlife-Gap-Cover-Brochure-2026-2.pdf · p10

If you leave a group policy

Not stated in the brochure.

The 3 policies side by side

Every benefit any Zestlife policy carries, and which of them carry it.

BenefitOptimal Gap Cover
R276/m
Essential Gap Cover
R429/m
Universal Gap Cover
R591/m
Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability✓✓✓
Casualty unit after an accident✓✓✓
Co-payment on robotic surgery✓✓✓
Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes✓✓✓
Dental work after an accident✓✓✓
Extras the provider adds at no charge✓✓✓
Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital✓✓✓
Trauma counselling✓✓✓
Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled✓✓✓
Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled✓✓✓
Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit✓×✓
Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy×✓✓
Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis×✓✓
Casualty unit for sudden illness×✓✓
Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit✓×✓
Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit××✓
Physiotherapists, dietitians and other allied professionals××✓
Shortfall on cancer treatment××✓
Specialist consultations out of hospital××✓
A daily cash amount while in hospital×××
A private ward×××
Above a scheme sub-limit generally×××
Basic dentistry for children×××
Co-payment on a scope×××
Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan×××
Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list×××
Dental implants×××
Dental work in hospital×××
External appliances×××
MedBoost×××
Network penalty buyback note penalty rule breach··×
Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund··×
Physical rehabilitation×××
Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls×××
Preventative mastectomy×××
Preventative screening×××
Procedures done out of hospital×××
Recovery after trauma×××
Screening scopes×××
Shortfall on the hospital account itself×××
The penalty for using a hospital off your network·×·

✓ covered   × the document says it is not covered   · the document does not mention it — which is not the same as no.

The 3 Zestlife policies

Premiums are 2026 rates as published by Zestlife. Open a policy for what it covers and what it costs.

Optimal Gap CoverR276/m

Covers up to 400% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 400% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.

Overall limit R219 800 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    In-hospital gap — Up to 400% (4 times) of the medical scheme tariff.
  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    Out-of-hospital — Up to 400% (4 times) of the medical scheme tariff.
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per policy)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per policy)
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery (per policy)
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • Dental work after an accident
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Accidental Death and PTD Cover — R55,000.
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Violent Crimes Assist Benefit — once-off R55,000 for death/PTD from violent crime (additi…
  • Trauma counselling
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled

What it does not cover

  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Physiotherapists, dietitians and other allied professionals
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Above a scheme sub-limit generally
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Screening scopes
  • Procedures done out of hospital
  • Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Preventative screening
  • External appliances
  • Recovery after trauma
  • Preventative mastectomy
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • Dental work in hospital
  • Dental implants
  • Basic dentistry for children
  • Shortfall on the hospital account itself
  • A private ward
  • MedBoost
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital

Using a hospital off your network

Covered up to R16 800 per policy, 2 claim per calendar_year.

“Non-network Co-payments — up to R16,800, two claims per policy per calendar year.”

Zestlife-Gap-Cover-Brochure-2026-2.pdf · p3

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual<42R276
familyall <42R495
Essential Gap CoverR429/m

Covers up to 300% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 300% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.

Overall limit R219 800 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    In-hospital gap — Up to 300% (3 times) of the medical scheme tariff.
  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    Out-of-hospital — Up to 300% (3 times) of the medical scheme tariff.
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness (per policy)
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery (per policy)
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • Dental work after an accident
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Accidental Death and PTD Cover — R55,000.
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Violent Crimes Assist Benefit — once-off R55,000 for death/PTD from violent crime (additi…
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Trauma counselling
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled

What it does not cover

  • The penalty for using a hospital off your network
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Physiotherapists, dietitians and other allied professionals
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
  • Above a scheme sub-limit generally
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Screening scopes
  • Procedures done out of hospital
  • Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Preventative screening
  • External appliances
  • Recovery after trauma
  • Preventative mastectomy
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • Dental work in hospital
  • Dental implants
  • Basic dentistry for children
  • Shortfall on the hospital account itself
  • A private ward
  • MedBoost
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual<42R429
individual<55R429
individual55–64R549
individual65+R645
familyall <42R549
familyall <65R549
familyany 65+R645
Universal Gap CoverR591/m

Covers up to 500% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 500% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.

Overall limit R219 800 a year.

What it covers

  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    In-hospital gap — Up to 500% (5 times) of the medical scheme tariff.
  • Specialist consultations out of hospital
  • Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
    Out-of-hospital — Up to 500% (5 times) of the medical scheme tariff, for over 60 out-pati…
  • Physiotherapists, dietitians and other allied professionals (per policy)
  • Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
  • Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per policy)
  • Casualty unit after an accident (per policy)
  • Casualty unit for sudden illness (per policy)
  • Internal prosthesis — above the scheme sub-limit (per policy)
    Sub-limit: stents R5 000, pacemakers R8 000, intraocular lenses per lens R6 500
  • Co-payment on robotic surgery (per policy)
  • Shortfall on cancer treatment
  • Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
  • Extras the provider adds at no charge
  • Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
  • Dental work after an accident
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Accidental Death and Permanent and Total Disability Cover — R55,000.
  • Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
    Violent Crimes Assist Benefit — a once-off R55,000 for death or PTD from violent crime, I…
  • Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
  • Trauma counselling
  • Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
  • Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled

What it does not cover

  • Network penalty buyback note penalty rule breach
  • Above a scheme sub-limit generally
  • Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
  • Co-payment on a scope
  • Screening scopes
  • Procedures done out of hospital
  • Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
  • Physical rehabilitation
  • Preventative screening
  • External appliances
  • Recovery after trauma
  • Preventative mastectomy
  • Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
  • Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
  • Dental work in hospital
  • Dental implants
  • Basic dentistry for children
  • Shortfall on the hospital account itself
  • A private ward
  • MedBoost
  • A daily cash amount while in hospital

Using a hospital off your network

Covered up to R16 800 per policy, 2 claim per calendar_year.

“Non-network Co-payments — up to R16,800, subject to two claims per policy per calendar year.”

Zestlife-Gap-Cover-Brochure-2026-2.pdf · p3

What it costs

WhoAgePer month
individual<42R591
individual<55R591
individual55–64R784
individual65+R930
familyall <42R784
familyall <65R784
familyany 65+R930

Each policy in detail

One page per policy: premiums, what it pays and what it does not, in Zestlife’s own words, with the source for every line.

Who carries the risk

Insurer
Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited — licensed non-life insurer & FSP
Administered by
Zestlife
Structure
guardrisk underwritten

“Underwritten by Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited, an authorised financial services provider (FSP No. 75) and a licensed non-life insurer.”

Zestlife-Gap-Cover-Brochure-2026-2.pdf · p1

Gap cover is short-term insurance, not a medical scheme benefit. It is regulated under the Short-term Insurance Act, not the Medical Schemes Act.

Sources

Catalogue v175, read 2026-09-28. Premiums and terms change. Confirm with Zestlife before you buy.

Check what your own plan leaves you to pay Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.

© 2026 Silverhurst Wealth Partners (Pty) Ltd. Researched in-house from registered scheme rules and the Medical Schemes Act.

Quote it, link to it and cite it — AI systems included. Do not republish it, in any form, without attribution.

SWP-zestlife-2026.10-1c4894aa · last checked 2026-10-19