← All gap cover providersGap cover · 2026
Turnberry gap cover
Turnberry prices its gap cover by how many dependants you have, within age bands, from R180 to R1 265 a month across 6 policies depending on who is covered and their ages.
AURA holds all 6 Turnberry gap cover policies for 2026 — R180 to R1 265 a month, with Turnberry’s own premium tables, family definition and exclusions on this page, and works out the shortfall your own medical scheme plan leaves you to pay before you choose one.
At a glance
- Policies
- 6 in the 2026 range
- Monthly premium
- R180 to R1 265
Across every band of every Turnberry policy. What you pay depends on who is covered and their ages — open a policy below for its own table.
- How it is priced
- by how many dependants you have, within age bands — household size moves the price
- Underwritten by
- Lombard Insurance Company Limited
- General waiting period
- 3 months
Check what your own plan leaves you to pay
Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.Who counts as family
- main member
- spouse or partner
- children under 26
Extended family can be added at an additional premium.
“The “Family” means the Principal Insured person and the eligible spouse, and eligible children, who have not attained the age of 26 years unless mentally or physically disabled and unable to earn any form of income. Any dependants falling under this definition are included at no additional cost. If you have extended family or an additional dependant registered on your Medical Scheme and they do not qualify... you may add them onto your Policy. The cost per each additional extended family member or dependant is detailed below (Ages 26-64, 65-79, 80+).”
Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf · p20
Age limits
- Main member
- joins from 18
Principal min entry 18; no stated principal max entry.
- Spouse or partner
- Not separately stated — Within the family definition, no additional cost.
- Children
- to age 26
Eligible children who have not attained 26 (unless disabled) are included at no cost.
- Extended family
- priced in bands 26-64, 65-79, 80+
Extended family / additional dependants added at an age-banded additional premium.
“eligible children, who have not attained the age of 26 years unless mentally or physically disabled... each additional extended family member or dependant is detailed below: Ages 26-64, Ages 65-79, Ages 80+.”
Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf · p20
Children
- Covered to age 26
- No age limit for a child who is disabled and unable to earn an income
- No limit on the number of children on the policy
“eligible children, who have not attained the age of 26 years unless mentally or physically disabled and unable to earn any form of income. Any dependants falling under this definition are included at no additional cost.”
Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf · p20
Waiting periods
- General
- 3 months
- Pre-existing condition
- 12 months
- Maternity
- 10 months
Permanent exclusions — these never expire
cancer severe illness: a cancer diagnosed before the policy started is excluded permanently. This is not a waiting period. It does not run out.
“was diagnosed while on the Policy... No benefit is payable while an Insured person is [pre-existing]... (cancer benefit pays only if first diagnosed while on the Policy).”
Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf · p8
If you leave a group policy
Not stated in the brochure.
The 6 policies side by side
Every benefit any Turnberry policy carries, and which of them carry it.
✓ covered × the document says it is not covered · the document does not mention it — which is not the same as no.
The 6 Turnberry policies
Premiums are 2026 rates as published by Turnberry. Open a policy for what it covers and what it costs.
DynamicR180/m
Covers up to 500% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 500% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
- The penalty for using a hospital off your network (per family)
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally (per family)
- Co-payment on a scope (per family)
Sub-limit: scopes R6 500
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per family)
Sub-limit: mri ct R20 000
- Casualty unit after an accident (per family)
- Casualty unit for sudden illness (per family)
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
- Trauma counselling (per family)
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — MEDICAL EXPENSE SHORTFALL COVER.
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — CO-PAYMENT COVER.
What it does not cover
- Recovery after trauma
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Screening scopes
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- Above the scheme’s dental sub-limit
- Dental implants
- Basic dentistry for children
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- MedBoost
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
Using a hospital off your network
Covered up to R10 000 per family, 1 claim per annum.
“NON-DSP HOSPITAL PENALTY COVER. R10 000 per admission. Limited to 1 claim per family per annum. Subject to the Overall Annual Limit”
Turnberry-One-Pagers_Dynamic.pdf · p1
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| 0–29 | 0–deps | R180 |
| 0–29 | 1 dep | R330 |
| 0–29 | 2 deps | R500 |
| 0–29 | 3 deps | R600 |
| 0–29 | 4 deps | R700 |
| 30–49 | 0–deps | R330 |
| 30–49 | 1 dep | R473 |
| 30–49 | 2 deps | R605 |
| 30–49 | 3 deps | R715 |
| 30–49 | 4 deps | R825 |
| 50–64 | 0–deps | R385 |
| 50–64 | 1 dep | R495 |
| 50–64 | 2 deps | R616 |
| 50–64 | 3 deps | R759 |
| 50–64 | 4 deps | R902 |
| 65+ | 0–deps | R605 |
| 65+ | 1 dep | R770 |
| 65+ | 2 deps | R935 |
| 65+ | 3 deps | R1 100 |
| 65+ | 4 deps | R1 265 |
LaunchR185/m
Covers up to 350% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 350% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per family)
- Casualty unit after an accident (per insured)
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Dental work in hospital
What it does not cover
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally
- Recovery after trauma
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit
- Co-payment on a scope
- Screening scopes
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing
- Casualty unit for sudden illness
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
- Trauma counselling
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness
- Above the scheme’s dental sub-limit
- Co-payment on dental work in hospital
- Dental implants
- Basic dentistry for children
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- MedBoost
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| family | 0–64 | R185 |
| family | 65+ | R320 |
Med-ExtendR426/m
Covers up to 300% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 300% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes (per family)
- Casualty unit after an accident (per family)
- Casualty unit for sudden illness (per family)
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
- MedBoost
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Dental work in hospital
What it does not cover
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally
- Recovery after trauma
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit
- Co-payment on a scope
- Screening scopes
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
- Trauma counselling
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness
- Above the scheme’s dental sub-limit
- Co-payment on dental work in hospital
- Dental implants
- Basic dentistry for children
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| family | 0–64 | R426 |
| family | 65+ | R601 |
SynergyR494/m
Covers up to 500% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 500% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
- The penalty for using a hospital off your network (per family)
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally (per insured)
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Co-payment on a scope (per insured)
Sub-limit: scopes R6 500
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
Sub-limit: mri ct R36 000
- Casualty unit after an accident (per insured)
- Casualty unit for sudden illness (per family)
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
MRI AND CT SCAN COVER.
- Trauma counselling (per family)
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
IN-HOSPITAL AND OUT-OF-HOSPITAL — MRI AND CT SCAN COVER (duplicate print).
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — MEDICAL EXPENSE SHORTFALL COVER.
- Basic dentistry for children (per family)
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — CO-PAYMENT COVER.
- Dental implants (per family)
- Dental work in hospital (per family)
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — SUB-LIMIT COVER.
What it does not cover
- Recovery after trauma
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy
- Screening scopes
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- MedBoost
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
Using a hospital off your network
Covered up to R11 500 per family, 1 claim per annum.
“NON-DSP HOSPITAL PENALTY COVER. R11 500 per admission. Limited to 1 claim per family per annum. Subject to the Overall Annual Limit”
Turnberry-One-Pagers_Synergy.pdf · p1
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| family | 0–64 | R494 |
| family | 65+ | R688 |
PremierR538/m
Covers up to 600% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 600% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
- The penalty for using a hospital off your network (per family)
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally (per insured)
- Recovery after trauma (per insured)
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Co-payment on a scope (per insured)
Sub-limit: scopes R6 500
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
Sub-limit: mri ct R46 500
- Casualty unit after an accident (per insured)
- Casualty unit for sudden illness (per family)
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
- Screening scopes (per insured)
- Trauma counselling (per family)
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy (per insured)
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness (per insured)
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — MEDICAL EXPENSE SHORTFALL COVER.
- Dental work in hospital (per insured)
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — SUB-LIMIT COVER.
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — CO-PAYMENT COVER.
- Dental implants (per family)
- Basic dentistry for children (per family)
What it does not cover
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- MedBoost
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
Using a hospital off your network
Covered up to R18 000 per family, 2 claim per annum.
“Non-Dsp Hospital Penalty Cover R18 000 per admission. 2 claims pfpa”
Turnberry-2026-Product-Comparison-Table.pdf · p2
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| individual | 0–64 | R538 |
| individual | 65+ | R741 |
| family | 0–64 | R737 |
| family | 65+ | R1 060 |
| youth | 0–25 | R315 |
OptimalR558/m
Covers up to 500% of the medical scheme rate. The policy is written as a 500% total ceiling, inclusive of what your scheme pays.
Overall limit R219 845 a year.
What it covers
- Shortfall on the specialist bill in hospital
- Co-payments and deductibles the scheme imposes
- The penalty for using a hospital off your network (per family)
- Above a scheme sub-limit generally (per insured)
- Co-payment on an MRI or CT scan
- Co-payment on a scope (per insured)
Sub-limit: scopes R6 500
- Above the scheme’s MRI/CT sub-limit (per insured)
Sub-limit: mri ct R36 000
- Casualty unit after an accident (per insured)
- Casualty unit for sudden illness (per family)
- Shortfall on cancer treatment
- Cancer treatment above the scheme’s oncology limit
- Newer cancer drugs the scheme does not fund
- Scans where the scheme funds nothing (per family)
- Trauma counselling (per family)
- Preventative mastectomy
- Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy (per insured)
- Screening scopes (per insured)
- Your scheme contributions paid if you die or are disabled
- Your gap premium paid if you die or are disabled
- Cash lump sum on accidental death or permanent disability (per insured)
- Cash lump sum on death from a critical illness (per insured)
- Extras the provider adds at no charge
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — MEDICAL EXPENSE SHORTFALL COVER.
- Dental work in hospital (per family)
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — SUB-LIMIT COVER.
- Dental work in hospital
IN-HOSPITAL DENTAL — CO-PAYMENT COVER.
- Dental implants (per family)
- Basic dentistry for children (per family)
What it does not cover
- Recovery after trauma
- Co-payment on the scheme’s defined procedure list
- MedBoost
- Cash lump sum on a first cancer diagnosis
- External appliances
- Preventative screening
- Shortfall on the hospital account itself
- A private ward
- A daily cash amount while in hospital
- Prescribed Minimum Benefit shortfalls
Using a hospital off your network
Covered up to R14 700 per family, 1 claim per annum.
“Non-Dsp Hospital Penalty Cover R14 700 per admission. 1 claim pfpa”
Turnberry-2026-Product-Comparison-Table.pdf · p2
What it costs
| Who | Age | Per month |
|---|
| family | 0–64 | R558 |
| family | 65+ | R806 |
Each policy in detail
One page per policy: premiums, what it pays and what it does not, in Turnberry’s own words, with the source for every line.
Who carries the risk
- Insurer
- Lombard Insurance Company Limited — licensed short-term (non-life) insurer
- Administered by
- Turnberry Management Risk Solutions (Pty) Ltd
- Structure
- direct insurer
“Underwritten by Lombard Insurance Company Limited, an Authorised Financial Services Provider (Insurer of short term insurance products).”
Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf · p2
Gap cover is short-term insurance, not a medical scheme benefit. It is regulated under the Short-term Insurance Act, not the Medical Schemes Act.
Sources
- Turnberry-Brochure-2026.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_Dynamic.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_Launch.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_MedExtend.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_Optimal.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_Premier.pdf
- Turnberry-One-Pagers_Synergy.pdf
Catalogue v175, read 2026-09-28. Premiums and terms change. Confirm with Turnberry before you buy.
Check what your own plan leaves you to pay
Your plan, your family, your conditions — the shortfall in rands before you choose a gap policy.
© 2026 Silverhurst Wealth Partners (Pty) Ltd. Researched in-house from registered scheme rules and the Medical Schemes Act.
Quote it, link to it and cite it — AI systems included. Do not republish it, in any form, without attribution.
SWP-turnberry-2026.10-1c4894aa · last checked 2026-10-19